Don’t just deactivate your Facebook account. Delete it permanently

Delete your account! Here’s how to say goodbye forever to Facebook.

Sarah Tew / CNET

Opinions of people on Facebook are mixed. For some, the social media site is an essential tool for staying in touch with friends and family around the world, interacting with groups of common interest, and getting news. But others see Facebook in terms of privacy violations, political fight, harmful disinformation and other content that could be harmful to adolescents. Now known as Meta, Facebook has a new name but the same old problems. Whatever your reasons for wanting to cancel your account, we’ll walk you through the steps below.

It is important to note that there is a difference between deleting your Facebook account and deactivate this. Disabling your Facebook account temporarily blocks it, which is useful if you want a brief downtime. But that does not prevent the company to follow your activity online.

Read more: 6 Ways To Get Personal Information From The Web

To completely separate yourself from Facebook, deleting your account is the only solution. Its removal also breaks ties with Facebook Messenger, the platform’s chat application. (If you also want get rid of Instagram and WhatsApp, which are properties of Facebook, you will need to do this separately.) We will explain some things you will need to consider before going through the process, which takes time and patience.

1. Delete the Facebook app from your phone and tablet

The first step is to delete the app from your smartphone or tablet. Remember that deleting the Facebook app does not delete your account – you can still access it from the browser, and other apps can still use Facebook as a login.

Removing the icon from your phone makes it disappear from sight and mind, but it doesn’t do anything to your overall account. You’ll need to make sure you follow all of these other steps or Facebook can still track your online activity.

2. Choose an alternative to messaging or social networks

Privacy and security with Signal and WhatsApp Messaging

There are plenty of messaging alternatives that you can use to stay in touch with others.

James Martin / CNET

Remember that when you delete your Facebook account, your Messenger access goes with it. This means that you will need to contact those you talk to frequently on Messenger and find out another app or messaging service to use to keep in touch.

Take the same approach with your Facebook friends in general. Post a status a few days before deleting your account and ask anyone who wants to stay in touch to send a message with their contact details.

Facebook also gives you the option to upload your photos, videos, notes, and posts to other sites like Google Photos and Dropbox. here is how to transfer Facebook data.

3. Disconnect your Facebook account from other applications and connections

Third-party developers like Spotify and DoorDash have long offered the ability to use your Facebook account as a way to sign up and log into their services. This is convenient because it saves you from having to remember another password. That is, until you no longer have a Facebook account.

You will need to address external accounts that depend on your Facebook information by signing in to each account and disconnecting it from your Facebook account.

To find a list of apps linked to your Facebook account:

  • Log into Facebook.
  • Go to Settings > Apps and websites.
  • If you’re having trouble figuring out how to unlink your Facebook account from a service, contact company customer service for assistance.
facebook-app-logins

Don’t lose access to the apps and services you use Facebook to sign in to.

Screenshot by Jason Cipriani / CNET

Once done, request and download a copy of all your Facebook data by following these steps:

  • Log in to Facebook on your computer.
  • Go to Settings > Your Facebook information.
  • Click on Seen beside Upload your information.
  • Leave all the boxes checked under the Your informations section.
  • Leave the date range at All my data.
  • Leave on format set to HTML – it puts your data in an easy to navigate format.
  • To save high-resolution copies of photos and videos you’ve posted to Facebook, change the Media quality drop down from Medium to High.

Finally, click Create a file. Facebook will then gather all of your information and send you an email when it’s ready to download. It may take a while for this to happen – it is not an instant process.

screenshot-2021-10-06-at-1-08-57-pm.png

Download all of your Facebook data before you do anything else.

Screenshot by Katie Teague / CNET

4. Finally, it’s time to delete your Facebook account

The last step is to delete your account. Do this, visit this page and log in.

Facebook will give you a list of tasks and things to consider before deleting your account. For example, you will be advised to upload all your information, or if you are the only administrator of a Facebook page, you will be asked to grant another account administrator privileges. Otherwise, the page will be deleted next to your account.

Alright, are you ready? Click on Delete account, enter your password and click on To continue. Finally, click Delete account again and you’re done.

delete-facebook-account

Read the latest tips from Facebook before deleting your account.

Screenshot by Jason Cipriani / CNET

5. You have 30 days to change your mind on Facebook

Facebook will take up to 90 days to remove all of your account data from its servers. During the first 30 days of this period, you can still log in and cancel your removal request. Your account will be restored and it will be as if you never left. For the best or for the worst.

To cancel your deletion request, visit Facebook.com, log in to your account and click on the Cancel deletion button.

And if you need help with the emotional side of breaking up, here are some tips for relieve the pain of Facebook separation.


Source link

Margie D. Carlisle